Nauvoo House
890 Main St,, Nauvoo, IL 62354
Historic Sites
In 1841 a group of investors, led by Church of Latter Day Saints founder Joseph Smith, began a joint-stock company to build a massive hotel called the Nauvoo House.
Slowly over the course of the next few years, the building began to take shape. Construction continued after Joseph's death in 1844, but the walls were not yet three stories high when work stopped in 1846. Decades later Emma Smith’s second husband, Lewis Bidamon, finished part of the structure and together they operated it as a boarding house called the Riverside Mansion. It was in this building that Emma Smith Bidamon lived during the last eight years of her life.
More Information
- Mon: 9:00am – 5:00pm
- Tue: 9:00am – 5:00pm
- Wed: 9:00am – 5:00pm
- Thu: 9:00am – 5:00pm
- Fri: 9:00am – 5:00pm
- Sat: 9:00am – 5:00pm
- Sun: 1:00pm – 5:00pm
There is a $4.00 preservation fee per person for the guided tour of the Smith homes.
How to find us?
You might also be interested...

Stoddard Tin Shop
Nauvoo
Visit the Stoddard home and view a restored 1840's tin shop, complete with tools and a demonstration of tinsmith techniques.
Read more about Stoddard Tin ShopPendleton Home & Log School
Nauvoo
Visitors have fun doing lessons on old-fashioned slates and learn fascinating facts about life in Old Nauvoo.
Read more about Pendleton Home & Log School
Wilford Woodruff Home
Nauvoo
This is one of the finest and best-preserved brick houses of the 1840s—one of the few homes in Historic Nauvoo furnished with the original inhabitants’ belongings.
Read more about Wilford Woodruff Home